You know you’re a writer when…

#1 …you take a vacation and find yourself taking notes and dreaming about paragraphs.

Since I finished those hardcore edits, I treated myself to a trip out to Atlanta to see the Aquarium on Saturday and visit Japanfest on Sunday. It was supposed to be a relaxing, writing-free weekend with the boyfriend (who occasionally gets neglected in favor of the keyboard ^^; ).

Then I ran across electric eels…. HMM, note to self, go home and research how their electricity works in order to make sure that Analee’s ability is fleshed out. I’m sure I researched that back when I first gave her the lightning but just in case. Then I found some adorable garden eels that absolutely must make an appearance in Deep Within. I can see Bones playing among them 😉

Then at Japanfest we got to see a demo of Paro, the therapeutic robot seal and I can’t help but branch off from that into the robots of the future in Sierra’s unnamed story (oy, I need a title because I don’t think her name is even going to be Sierra)

#2…. (added after a long day) you’re so engrossed in writing that you forget to eat. Again. ‘Just one more word…’

2 Responses to You know you’re a writer when…

  1. Tammy says:

    Zellie…I was just checking out your website again and came across this post. It made me laugh. My kids and husband know that every time I get quiet for long stretches of time that I’m thinking of writing. They all give long suffering sighs and say things like, “Mom…we’re supposed to be out together…want to come away from your imaginary world and join us?” Lol…I can’t help it if everything gives me ideas though.

  2. Zellie says:

    I think it was Tad Williams who once said that he’d get ideas anywhere…. even from a can of air freshener in a men’s room! I have to remind my boyfriend though, I’m not ditzy, I’m thinking deeply ;p

Leave a Reply

