The Best Applicants for the Best Job

Now, I know what you’re thinking, there can be up to 30,000 applicants so how on earth can I know which are the best? I can’t have watched all those applications! But I don’t need to.

The Island Caretaker position requires a weekly video blog. Not a report, not a book, a blog. The draw of a blog is the immediate, personal connection you have with the writer. What I want out of an Island Caretaker is someone who takes the time to really be involved with the community that is following their adventures. The IC should read, respond, react. If someone in the community wants to know about golf, the IC should check out and report back on golf or conservation or the mating habits of the goanna. That is what will keep people reading and watching.

The active members of Island Reef Job at Ning prove on a daily basis that they are already invested in the community. They don’t just want the job for themselves, they genuinely want to represent the community.

Below are some people who have caught my eye.

Rey, mentioned first because he was kind enough to mention me on his own blog. This guy is bursting with ways to get the community directly involved from organizing an Island Reef Jobber Meet-Up to keeping track of the competition on his blog. He is educated, intelligent, and he is devoted to conservation efforts. Besides, after working at Target till all hours I have major sympathy pain for anyone in retail or food service. He is truly a diamond to be brought out of the rough.

Vote for Rey!

Susie, of course! She started the Ning community and is always improving it. She has an adorable koala plushie and even has experience blogging from an island!

Vote for Susie!

Tony because he’s my number one fan! Haha! Besides being super supportive, he’s a freelance writer and his video not only gets his skills across with humor but also has a great idea in its presentation. It’s one of the few I could actually see used promotionally. As hard as I worked on my first and second, and they do get across my qualifications, I’m not sure I could see them on a commercial ;p I also enjoy Tony’s because, while he is experienced, he’s not a ‘been there, done that’ kind of person. If I got hired, it would really put me on track toward a real career, something I’ve been struggling toward for years. I think this job would be very beneficial for him in getting more travel-related writing jobs.

Vote for Tony!

Laura Moss. Whether or not she gets the job, I will continue to read her blogs because she has a great way with words. She digs up unique facts and presents them in an entertaining way.


Vote for Laura!

Kymri! She is my vote for the family woman. It doesn’t surprise me that she’s an experienced actor because she does a fantastic job presenting herself. Her travel photography is excellent-published even. Her words are clear, upbeat, and you just want to keep listening! Plus, she can handle anything. She’s been stung by rays twice and just keeps on surfing. She was also recently interviewed here.

Vote for Kymri!

There were a few applications that stood out to me posted by members of the community but the applicants just aren’t active enough. Doesn’t count to join, post your link, and disappear ;p

I may add more in the future. I thought about this but didn’t post it for a long time because I know I would miss some great applications and I know it’s sad to not be picked T_T I’ll be happy for any active members of the community to be selected. Especially me 😉

Make sure I see your video by posting your official link here. To read more about my personal selection criteria, click here.

3 Responses to The Best Applicants for the Best Job

  1. art predator says:

    nice job putting together a list that helps to sort the chaff from the grain! i appreciate also how you give your reasons–both from a perspective of having someone community minded but also other qualities

  2. Kymri says:

    Zellie, I’m both flattered and honored! What a way to make someone’s day! My family and I all thank you for the recognition 🙂

  3. Paul says:

    Wow awesome video! Here’s my rocking video app.
    http://www.islandreefjob.com/#/applicants/watch/kQzXTMfDLpA

Leave a Reply

