Toilets – Mexico

It amazes me how creative architects get with something as utilitarian as a bathroom.  It’s like, you’ve got to pretty up the process somehow.  And of course there are the euphemisms… water closet, WC, powder room, bathroom, etc

picture-096

Castle bathroom!

And on the opposite end, there were toilets that didn’t flush in hole-y shacks with no running water let alone soap or paper towels.

There was the Mayan village with a wooden log bathroom with a thatched roof.  There was toilet paper but to ‘flush’ you were to throw bark down the hole.

And all the bathrooms had people waiting to give you paper towels for a tip.  Seriously, seriously?!  There isn’t anything more useful they could be doing?  It takes me .1 second to grab a paper towel!

At the hotel there was a bidet.  At least, I think it was a bidet.  I’m not really sure what you’re supposed to do with it D:  I was tempted to Google it haha.

picture-006

2 Responses to Toilets – Mexico

  1. Hey Zellie! Did you see the toilet (urinal) pic I posted on the Ning site? I didn’t know anyone else took pictures of toilets… I’ve got toilet pics from China, Germany, Argentina, Austria, Italy, Mexico, and the US.

    It’s not a fettish or anything, I just find it fascinating that different cultures find different ways to do something as mundane as a toilet.

    It’s nice to find someone who won’t find that totally weird.

    Jonathan

  2. mywildheart says:

    Haha, nope…only a little weird 😉 I didn’t originally go out on a Toilet Mission but I couldn’t help taking pictures of the bizarre ones in New Zealand, now it’s becoming a travel tradition for me.

Leave a Reply

